Author Topic: ...Playing out of tune...  (Read 590 times)

Offline Medi

• A Red Savage 2016 Football Champion
...Playing out of tune...
« on: March 16, 2019, 01:46:27 AM »
...I was very focused when I studied the cello...I would spend HOURS playing GD SCALES!!!!!!!!!!  I wanted to train my hands and fingers so that EVERY NOTE WOULD BE IN TUNE!!!  I did well... :)...part of my audition to Conservatory was to play a C# minor scale...I did it...and the professors smiled.

When I was assigned to a string quartet...I was having a lot of problems playing in 'unison' with the 1st violin.  We would cut off practice, and slowly play the passage...she had a slightly different idea of what a B flat sounded like...than what I was playing... >:(  We just worked, and agreed on what the note should sound like...but I would glare at her as we did the unison...and think..."Play it as we agreed...or I am walking off of the stage!!!!!!!!!!"

I complained to my private cello instructor...actually...I VENTED!!!  He just listened, and took my cello, and played two B flats.  He asked me..."Which one was correct?"  I don't have 'perfect pitch'...and I said..."I don't know."  He nodded, and handed my cello back to me, and said..."Then don't complain."   :o

He kicked me out after 23 minutes of a one hour lesson...I was REALLY frustrated...I wasn't focused on playing the Brahms...I was just thinking about how to play a B flat :o

I carried my cello to the food court, and sat and ate a taco...I didn't want to practice.